Beware Of The Pottermore Scam

Are you a Harry Potter fan? Do you want to lay your hands on Pottermore website before anyone else? Then wait. You might get targeted by online scammers who are selling fake Pottermore accounts to access the exclusive content by JK Rowling.

Pottermore is a website by JK Rowling which will feature exclusive stories and some background information about the popular Harry Potter series. It will be officially opening in October.

But even in August, some people are selling fake Pottermore accounts online which they claim will give a user access to all the exclusive content before anyone else.

Let us warn you that these accounts are not legitimate. Most of the times, these scammers ask for money in return of the account which never works but sometimes, they even direct their targets to infected sites and at the end, user find himself amidst viruses and other sorts of malware.

This is an example of innumerable cases where scammers try to cash a latest news by hitting their target’s field of interest.

We advice our readers to stay out of these type of tricks by being aware and even if you are quite sure that the person is not cheating, do run a background check on the service he is claiming and if possible, the person himself.

Photo Courtesy of Shaun Case
Photo Courtesy of pioforsky

Advertisements

Google To Warn Users About Malware Infection

Google is going to start a new service through which it will warn users if their computer has been infected with malware. This service will help users to check whether their web searches have been hijacked to spy on them.

According to an official Google blog post, this malware routes web traffic through a small number of proxies. This malware was detected during the routine maintenance of one of Google’s data centers.

Damian Menscher, a Google security engineer said that,”After collaborating with security engineers at several companies that were sending this modified traffic, we determined that the computers exhibiting this behavior were infected with a particular strain of malicious software, or ‘malware’.”

Though according to Google, they are introducing this feature to help users but we think that it will also let malware authors to replicate and write various fake notifications and that is not a hard task. They can misdirect a user to follow their commands and ultimately the user will find himself amidst malicious code.

The question here arises that how can Goggle possibly tell whether a computer has been infected or not. The answer , according to the Google official blog, is that only those users will be notified who appear to be routed through proxy servers to use Google services.

This step taken by Google is undoubtedly good but still it will be a pretty hard task for users to identify a legitimate notification as we already know that there are tons of infected sites which claim to provide the same notification.

Photo Courtesy of bfishadow
Photo Courtesy of mightykenny